THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA, THE DARK SIDE OF PURITY and 3 more campaigns we love

Welcome to this episode of RhythmComics Crowdfunding Overview! We have five diverse Kickstarter projects, ranging from an all-female, non-binary anti-patriarchy anthology about purity to a children’s picture book that combats the negativity of anti-gay legislation messages. Check it out!


The dark side of purity

The Dark Side of Purity Comics Crowdfunding

Creators: Heather Vaughan (cover artist), Rio Burton, Amy Chase (writer), Giulia Lalli (artist), Miranda Leyson (letter), sadie hartmann (forward), Ai Jiang, Tyrtle Sage (writer), Damon Barret Roe (writer), Lindz McLeod (writer), Dany Rivera (artist), Jenny Fleming (artist), Elysee Russell (writer), fallen dog, Antonia Rachel Ward (poet), Mariateresa Susca (artist), Robyn Singer (writer), Kristin Cleaveland (writer), Michaela Oteri (illustrator), Sarah Allen Reed (artist), and many others contributing to the book of prose and poetry
Objective: $12,000
End date: July 8, 2022
Tips : Physical edition at regular retail price, digital edition, and graphic novel variant covers

An anti-patriarchy anthology of prose, poetry and comics taking the idea of ​​purity from the perspective of women and non-binary creators.

This anthology includes stories from an all-female, non-binary creative team about the traditional values ​​of “purity”, “chastity” and “femininity”, published in two volumes. The first book is a collection of prose and poetry, and the second book is a collection of comics and graphic poetry.

This Kickstarter aims to finance the work and remunerate the creators so that Soda and Telepaths can benefit from the sales of the collection in mass distribution. NARAL, a pro-choice organization. If the campaign is successful, all proceeds from non-Kickstarter sales can be donated to the organization.

Become a contributor here.

Don’t Say Gator™ — An LGBTQ+ Anthem for the Everglades

Don't Say Gator

Creators: Douglas Killingtree
Objective: $10,000
End date: July 10, 2022
Tips : Autographed Picture Book, Library Pack and “Don’t Say Gator” Bookmark, Canvas Tote Bag, Fanny Pack, T-Shirt, Patch, Lanyard, Backpack and Patch

A colourful, uplifting and musically inspired picture book that celebrates that gay children are proud in the face of bigotry.

OK, this isn’t technically a comic book crowdfunding project, but it is an important issue. LGBTQ+ youth are four times more likely to contemplate, plan or attempt suicide, and political attacks on the queer community only increase the likelihood. The book of musical inspiration, Don’t Say Gator, by Mascot Books is all about staying true to yourself, even when asked to be quiet. The book has a QR code inside the front cover to access the sung and karaoke versions.

Become a contributor here.

Produce the end of the world number 1 (72 epic pages)

Producing the End of the World Comics Crowdfunding

Creators: Louis Southard, Dominique Pagano (artist), Rob Gaughran (artist), Rob Pilkington (writer), Elodie Chen (artist), Aubrey Jeppson (writer), Jeremy Schiek (artist), Scott Dunn (writer), Paul Gori (artist), Adam Burt (writer), Richard Kemp (artist), Alex Dandino (writer), Chris Maiurro (artist), Rob Jones (letter), Antoine Pollock (editor), and Gary proudly (assistant editor)
Objective: $4,935
End date: July 5, 2022
Tips : Half of the anthology is offered at the lowest level, digital or physical edition, variant covers, podcast for each short story where the writer and artist are interviewed, scripts for each short, and Soda and Telepaths will lead your Kickstarter campaign

A post-apocalyptic comic book anthology for fans of Love Death and Robots, Heavy Metal and Death.

Of Soda and Telepaths, produce the end of the world is a 72-page anthology about what happens after the apocalypse. (No it is not Left overit’s better.) Stories range from “Down with Something,” a commentary on Donald Drumpf’s handling of COVID-19, to “Dark Storm,” a doomsday story for hurricane survivors, to “The Last Song Played Will Not Be Freebird”, about what should be the last song played on Earth.

Become a contributor here.

The Phantom of the Opera, a graphic novel

The Phantom of the Opera

Creators: Becky Laff
Objective: $12,000
End date: July 6, 2022
Tips : Digital wallpaper, high resolution PDF copy, print edition, three exclusive 11 by 17 inch pin-ups, signed book copy, original book artwork and add-ons

Book 1 (of 2) is a graphic novel adaptation of Gaston Leroux’s 1910 masterpiece.

Becky Laff presented Gaston Lerouxit is The Phantom of the Opera: A graphic novel on WEBTOON since four years. Unlike other adaptations, this graphic novel aims to tell the story as it was written, a gothic horror. Although Laff made changes to the original story, his graphic novel presents the story as Leroux wrote it, “a destructive relationship that relies on addiction and abuse to sustain itself, shrouded in the facade of theatre, music, seduction and, of course, gas lighting.

I have seen a ballet at the Opéra du Palais Garnier in Paris, France, and the detail in Laff’s rendering of the iconic theater captures its haunting beauty and extraordinary luxury. Also, I love that Kickstarter levels are named after theater levels. (Full disclosure: Leroux’s novel is also one of my favorites – maybe it’s a Rebecca thing.)

Become a contributor here.

The Story of Tsarevich Ivan, the Firebird and the Gray Wolf

The Story of Tsarevich Ivan, the Firebird and the Gray Wolf

Creators: Izzy Carroll
Objective: $1,231
End date: July 7, 2022
Tips : PDF copy, hardcover copy and signed limited edition

An illustrated adaptation of a classic Russian fairy tale.

Growing up, one of my favorite fairy tales was The Story of Tsarevich Ivan, the Firebird and the Gray Wolf by Alexander Afanasyev. The famous Russian folk tale has been adapted into illustrated editions several times, notably by the Russian illustrator and scenographer Ivan Bilibin, who also worked for the Ballets Russes, including costume design for the company’s adaptation of the story. Carroll’s New Illustrated Edition brings a very different art style to the story that pays homage to Bilibin’s art and costumes.

Become a contributor here.


Here are some projects already funded that are worth seeing:

And don’t forget to check out the crowdfunding campaigns from the past week:

And finally, here are some projects that have not yet been launched, but are worth following:

Missing any of our previous comic book crowdfunding roundups? View the archive here!

Comments are closed.